Project – Still Life

28

Exercise – Still Life Group Using Line

 

The components of the composition blended in well together. I wanted the fall of the diagonal line but had I thought further beforehand I should have used a little artistic licence and shifted my background, the view through the window, to the right so that the eye was led right across the page.

IMG_0068_edited-3

 The instruction was for a line drawing rather than tone and so i have been economical with shading/hatching and bearing in mind the light came from the window, i.e. backlit, a little more shadow might have strengthened the drawing. I also limited the amount of crosshatching and texture in order to keep it simple.

 

I struggled with the perspective of the “table” edges. What I drew is what is there and carefully judged. However it’s not correct and the table of objects is floating in space rather than on the line of sight from eye to outside. With perspective I think it is better to draw what looks right rather that what is in front of you.

 

My view of the objects was slightly down but the aspect of the drawing is from a greater height. I have had this problem before and I am not sure why it occurs. The paper was flat and its viewpoint is lower but the drawing should be how the eye sees the objects and not a difficult view.

 

The trees were drawn in a watered down ink and I think that works and leaves the objects dominant.

 

Did you make good use of the medium?

It was a first pen and ink drawing so I am quite pleased with it. I was concerned about making irrecoverable mistakes though thankfully that didn’t materially occur.

The drawing could have been developed/finished off a bit more to make it more “whole” but I may have spoiled it as to do so would have been stretching it.

Leave a Reply

